Henderson County Shines at 2020 NC Extension Awards Ceremony

— Written By
en Español

El inglés es el idioma de control de esta página. En la medida en que haya algún conflicto entre la traducción al inglés y la traducción, el inglés prevalece.

Al hacer clic en el enlace de traducción se activa un servicio de traducción gratuito para convertir la página al español. Al igual que con cualquier traducción por Internet, la conversión no es sensible al contexto y puede que no traduzca el texto en su significado original. NC State Extension no garantiza la exactitud del texto traducido. Por favor, tenga en cuenta que algunas aplicaciones y/o servicios pueden no funcionar como se espera cuando se traducen.

English is the controlling language of this page. To the extent there is any conflict between the English text and the translation, English controls.

Clicking on the translation link activates a free translation service to convert the page to Spanish. As with any Internet translation, the conversion is not context-sensitive and may not translate the text to its original meaning. NC State Extension does not guarantee the accuracy of the translated text. Please note that some applications and/or services may not function as expected when translated.

Collapse ▲

It is always a good thing to see those you work with honored for their hard work and dedication. Such was the case recently at the Extension Awards Ceremony. This annual event was held virtually this year of course due to the pandemic. However, it was great to hear the names of our team called repeatedly this year. Here were the winners from Henderson County.

The Dr. R. Marshall and Mrs. Jan Stewart 4-H Leadership Award was established by Associate Director, Department Head, and State 4-H Leader, Dr. Marshall Stewart and his wife Jan to recognize an outstanding 4-H professional (4-H Agent, 4-H Program Assistant, 4-H Program Associate, or 4-H Specialist) who has demonstrated excellence as a tenured professional of 10 years or more.

2020 Winner: Denise Sherrill, Henderson County

NCCES Foundation Search for Excellence Awards in Extension Sponsored by The Grange. Eligible for Award nomination: Agent, Administrative Professional, Program Assistant, Specialist, District Team. The purpose of the Search for Excellence Awards is to promote and identify professional excellence within all facets of the North Carolina Cooperative Extension Service.

2020 4-H Grange Award Winner, Denise Sherrill, Henderson County

2020 Family & Consumer Science Award Winner, Renay Knapp, Henderson County

2020 West District Team Award Winner, Henderson County

This award was for the N.C. Cooperative Extension of Henderson County’s 8th Grade Field Trip and Farm Tour. Members of the team were Hannah Worrell, Steve Pettis, Emily Capps, Ty Ancrum, Karen Blaedow, Denise Sherrill, Erin Norton, and William Terry Kelley.

Lathan F. Smith Jr. Award. This award was established by the family of Lathan Smith to honor an NC 4-H agent whose performance exemplifies the outstanding professional characteristics demonstrated by Mr. Smith during his professional career. Mr. Smith served as an Extension Agent in Wayne and Davidson Counties. He was named Extension District 4-H Program Leader on April 15, 1978, and was appointed Extension Professor of 4-H Youth Development on July 1, 1979. He was named Extension Specialist, 4-H in July 1984.

2020 Winner: Denise Sherrill, Henderson County