Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Meet Our Staff

County Extension Director

Photo of Terry Kelley, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDr. Terry KelleyCounty Extension Director and Extension Agent, Agriculture - Tree Fruit (828) 697-4891 (Office) wtkelley@ncsu.eduHenderson County

4-H Youth Development

Photo of Sue Janowiak, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionSue Janowiak4-H Program Assistant (828) 697-4891 (Office) sue_janowiak@ncsu.eduHenderson CountyPhoto of John Murphy, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionJohn MurphyBullington Gardens Director (828) 698-6104 (Office) john_murphy@ncsu.eduHenderson CountyPhoto of Denise Sherrill, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDenise SherrillExtension Agent, 4-H Youth Development (828) 697-4891 (Office) denise_sherrill@ncsu.eduHenderson County

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Photo of Karen Blaedow, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionKaren BlaedowExtension Agent, Agriculture - Vegetable and Small Fruit (828) 697-4891 (Office) karen_blaedow@ncsu.eduHenderson CountyPhoto of Noah Henson, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionNoah HensonArea Agent, Agriculture - Livestock, Dairy, Equine, Forages (828) 255-5522 (Office) nbhenson@ncsu.eduBuncombe CountyPhoto of Steve Pettis, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionSteve Pettis, Jr.Extension Agent, Agriculture (828) 697-4891 (Office) steve_pettis@ncsu.eduHenderson County

Family and Consumer Sciences

Photo of Renay Knapp, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionRenay KnappExtension Agent, Family and Consumer Sciences (828) 697-4891 (Office) renay_knapp@ncsu.eduHenderson County

Support

Photo of Ivy Olson, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionIvy OlsonCounty Extension Administrative Assistant (828) 697-4891 (Office) ivy_olson@ncsu.eduHenderson County

Other

Photo of Emily Capps, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionEmily CappsAdministrative Support Specialist (828) 697-4891 (Office) emily_capps@ncsu.eduHenderson County

Area Specialized Agents

These agents specialize in specific areas of agriculture and natural resource management and serve many counties. While their knowledge and expertise is available to residents of Henderson County Center, they may not be present in the Henderson County Center. Please contact the Henderson County Center for assistance and initial consultation.

Photo of Brent Buchanan, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBrent BuchananArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Dairy Serves 26 CountiesBased out of Cleveland(315) 212-1277 babuchan@ncsu.eduCleveland County Photo of Lauren Greene, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionLauren GreeneArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Poultry Serves 31 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wilkes(336) 651-7347 lauren_greene@ncsu.eduWilkes County Photo of Marissa Herchler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarissa HerchlerArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Animal Food Safety (FSMA Programs) Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Poultry Science(919) 515-5396 marissa_herchler@ncsu.eduPoultry Science Photo of Bill Lord, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBill LordArea Specialized Agent, Water Resources Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Franklin(919) 496-3344 (Office) william_lord@ncsu.eduFranklin County Photo of Craig Mauney, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCraig MauneyArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Commercial Vegetables & Fruits Serves 39 CountiesBased out of Henderson(828) 684-3562 craig_mauney@ncsu.eduHenderson County Photo of Currey Nobles, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCurrey NoblesArea Specialized Agent, Food Safety Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science(919) 515-9520 canobles@ncsu.eduFood, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science Photo of Elena Rogers, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionElena RogersArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Food Safety - Fresh Produce Western NC Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Horticultural Science(828) 352-2519 elena_rogers@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Photo of Debbie Stroud, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDebbie StroudArea Specialized Agent, Consumer and Retail Food Safety Serves 33 Counties and EBCIBased out of Agricultural & Human Sciences(919) 515-9149 dlstroud@ncsu.eduAgricultural & Human Sciences Photo of Amanda Taylor, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAmanda TaylorArea Specialized Agent, Nursery and Greenhouse, Western Region Serves 28 CountiesBased out of Burke(828) 475-2915 amanda_jo_taylor@ncsu.eduBurke County Photo of Skip Thompson, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionSkip ThompsonArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Aquaculture Serves 13 Counties and EBCIBased out of Haywood(828) 456-3575 (Office) Skip_Thompson@ncsu.eduHaywood County Photo of Mitch Woodward, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMitch WoodwardArea Specialized Agent, Watersheds and Water Quality Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wake(919) 250-1112 mdwoodwa@ncsu.eduWake County